It is a sad but true fact that in Georgia, automobile crashes are a leading cause of fatalities for children ages 1 to 12 years. The Georgia state legislature clearly recognized the dangers children face in automobiles and confronted this problem by creating O.C.G.A. § 40-8-76 which contains Georgia’s child passenger safety seat laws. According to the statute, all children under the age of eight are required to be properly restrained in an appropriate child passenger safety seat or booster seat. Taxi cabs and public transit are exempt from the requirement.
How to choose the right car seat for your child
It’s critical for your child’s safety to ensure that you choose the right car seat and use it properly according to the instructions from the manufacturer. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration(NHTSA), 3 out of every 4 car seats are not used correctly. Furthermore, the NHTSA found that 4 out of every 10 children under the age of 6 years old who are hurt or die in auto crashes were unrestrained or improperly restrained. The organization also found that when car seats are utilized appropriately, they are 71% more effective in preventing injury to infants, and 54% more effective with children aged 1-4.
Generally, car seats fall under one of the following types: rear-facing seats, forward-facing seats, convertible car seats, all-in-one car seats, and booster seats. Which seat you should use depends on the age and size of your child. Once you find the appropriate seat for your child, follow the manufacturer’s instructions for proper use. The NHTSA offers helpful instructional videos on their website that explains how to install different types of car seats. You can access these here.
If your children or loved ones have been the victims of a car crash, please call the Wolfe Law Group, LLC now for a free consultation. We can be reached at #(404) 348-0884.
Leave a Comment